Tags

, ,

In the 1920s, Gabriele “Coco” Chanel became tired of having to carry her handbags in her arms and decided to design a handbag that freed up her hands. Inspired by the straps found on soldiers’ bags she added thin straps and introduced the resulting design to the market in 1929.

After her successful comeback to the fashion industry in 1954, Chanel decided to update her handbag, for the modern women. The resulting design was called 2.55 after the date of creation, February 1955.

It’s the best item in my wardrobe! And I am in love with it!

I always wanted one… I guess that having this bag is as close as a man having a Ferrari. I feel powerful and pretty and it does not matter if I am wearing it with a pair of Havaianas or a killer heels, casual or power dressing. It’s a classic and it’s one of those iconic bags that will never go out of style. I say this with passion.

I have a small black lambskin with gold hardware and its perfect for me, fits perfectly my out and about essentials: purse, phone, camera, handbag size perfume and the lipstick.

They come in three sizes and you should choose whatever is more practical for you. They are in two types of leather, the lambskin is soft and feels great but pricy and scratches easily, however it looks amazing – the other option is the caviar, which is somewhat a grainy leather and much more durable.

I think the pastel colours are very beautiful. If I would have another one I would go for the ivory with gold hardware. It’s lovely!

If you are looking for a timeless bag, this is the one to buy. It has chic and elegance written all over it.

